Recipe

Sourdough Crêpes Make an Easy and Delicious Entrée or Dessert

You will make these quick treats often.

Patricia Davis
6 min readSep 7, 2022

--

Traditional crêpes like these can be made using sourdough discard.
Traditional French crêpes like these can be made using sourdough discard. Photo by Sarah Brown on Unsplash

As a teenager, I discovered the delight of crêpes quite accidentally. Occasionally, I would thumb through Mom’s gigantic yellow-covered cookbook that was her recipe Bible. Sometimes I’d choose a spot and open the book at random. One day it opened to “Traditional French Crêpes.”

Skimming through the recipe, I realized it was pretty simple. But I didn’t have anything that resembled a crêpe pan. Grandma came up behind me and, reading over my shoulder, read my mind. “You don’t need one,” she said, pointing to the picture.

That was all the encouragement I needed. After that, I made them every chance I got. Our family’s supply of various jellies and quickly whisked whipped-cream became my go-to fillings. I even bought a small mesh strainer to use for dusting with powdered sugar.

During my college years, Dad was posted to Heidelburg, Germany, and we visited Paris during one summer break. I finally ate authentic French crêpes. They had a delightful lemony filling. If you follow my writing here, you know I love lemon-anything.

During this pandemic, I created a sourdough starter, because I couldn’t find bread or yeast on my store’s shelves. Since…

--

--

Patricia Davis

Pat blogs about food, sustainability, and living simply. Sourdough is a particular passion. She also writes historical fiction with social justice themes.